NPP dismisses Nana Ohene Ntow, Buaben Asamoa, two others for openly supporting Alan

By Edward Acquah,

Accra, Nov. 20, GNA- The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has dismissed four members of the Party for openly declaring support for Mr Alan Kyerematen, who is lacing his boots to contest as independent candidate in the 2024 presidential election.

The Party in a statement on Monday announced the dismissal of Hopeson Adorye, Nana Ohene Ntow, Boniface Abubakar Saddique and Yaw Buaben Asamoa as members of the NPP.

The NPP accused the four officers of publicly endorsing Mr Kyerematen’s Movement for Change.

The statement signed by Mr Justin Kodua Frimpong, General Secretary, NPP, said the four persons have “automatically forfeited their membership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP)”.

“They are, therefore, no longer members of the party,” it added.

It said the move by the four persons breached the Party’s constitution, hence their removal.

Article 3(9) (1) of the NPP’s Constitution indicates that any member of the Party who “joins or declares his or her support for another Political Party, or for an independent candidate, when the Party has sponsored a candidate in a general or by-election, automatically forfeits his or her membership of the Party.”

Mr Kyerematen, in September this year, withdrew from the NPP’s presidential primary and subsequently resigned from the Party, and declared his resolved to contest the 2024 presidential election as an independent candidate.

Nana Ohene Ntow, a former General Secretary of the NPP, and Yaw Buaben Asamoa, the immediate-past Director of Communications, NPP, were key members of Mr Kyerematen’s campaign team.

Boniface Abubakar Saddique, a former NPP Member of Parliament for Salaga, and Madina, and Hopeson Adorye, a former NPP Parliamentary Candidate for Kpong Katamanso, also gave their support to Mr Kyerematen.